dedicated to hatching political kiwis

LEARN - What is Government?


A super (suuuper) brief
intro to government


New Zealand is a constitutional monarchy, which means that the Queen of England is the head of state and has all the legal power, but acts on the advice of the government. The Queen is represented in parliament by the Governor General (currently Dame Patsy Reddy). 

The government is made up of the Governor General plus a democratically elected house of representatives (ie. the members of parliament we vote for). There are three branches of government - parliament, the executive, and the judiciary.  
Learn more about...


Parliament is elected using the MMP System. Seats are used to decide which political party has power.
Learn how this works:


Parliament discusses and creates new laws (by introducing bills) and amends (changes) old laws. 
Learn more about:


Special seats in parliament are reserved for those of Māori descent, elected by the Māori electorate.
Learn more about: 


Step it back