dedicated to hatching political kiwis

LEARN- Māori Seats


The Maori Electorate

a.k.a the Maori seats


The Māori electorate were introduced in 1867 under the Māori Representation Act. There are 7 seats reserved for people of Māori descent in the NZ Parliament (which have a total of 120 seats), voted in by the seven Māori electorates which span NZ. 

Māori MPs can be affiliated with any party. Every voter of Māori descent can choose to be part of their Māori electorate and vote for a Māori electorate OR be part of their general electorate and vote for a general electorate. 


To be eligible for the Maori Electorate, You have to: 


#1. Be of Māori descent

#2. Register on the Māori electorate


Step it back